Western Reserve Academy announces three National Merit semifinalists

Western Reserve Academy announces three National Merit semifinalists

Out of the 1.6 million applications submitted for the National Merit Scholarship Program, there were three standouts from Western Reserve Academy. We congratulate seniors Peter Campanelli, Matthew Groll and Aidan Johnson for the distinct honor of placing as a semifinalist, as well as this year's commended students, Sash Davis '18, Aeri Hong '18, Dana Lake '18, Jayune Lee '18 and Kayla Siladi '18.

More than 22,000 high schools were represented in the application pool for the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. To be named a semifinalist, the applicant must show outstanding academic merit, achieve high scores on the qualifying test (the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test), be endorsed by a high school official, write and submit an essay, and receive SAT scores that confirm the high performance of their earlier test scores and academic record.

The total amount of semifinalists represents less than 1 percent of all U.S. high school seniors, and includes the highest scoring entrants from each state.

"The entire school community is extremely proud of our National Merit semifinalists this year," said Head of School Christopher D. Burner '80. "Each year, we are honored to have a group of students recognized for their academic achievements as National Merit finalists and semifinalists. They are a testament to our excellent students and distinctive College Level curriculum."

The National Merit Scholarship Program honors students who show tremendous academic ability and potential for great success in college. Semifinalists now have the opportunity to apply for the 7,500 opens spots for the National Merit Scholarships, which will award more than $32 million in the spring.

"These three accomplished WRA students excel not only academically, but in their passions outside of the classroom. This recognition is a tribute to their hard work and dedication. We look forward to their continued success in the future," said Director of College Counseling Gunnar W. Olson.

The winners of the 2018 National Merit Scholarship will be announced in April.