17 WRA seniors received recognition from the 2020 National Merit® Scholarship Program

17 WRA seniors received recognition from the 2020 National Merit® Scholarship Program

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

We are excited to announce that 16% of the senior class received national merit recognition. Of the 17 seniors recognized, 5 were semifinalists -- those that scored in the top 1% of the 1.6 million high school seniors who took the PSAT -- and 12 were commended scholars scoring in the top 2%.

Five WRA seniors named as Semifinalists - Yichen Wang, Elizabeth Wren, Sarah Latzke, Ellie Frato-Sweeney and Raymond Barrett.

Twelve seniors named as National Merit Commended Scholars- Blake Birch, Jad Darwiche, Josephine Houska, Rowena Ge, Kathryn Chen, Noah Luch, Hyun Ryu Vijay Sastry, Ilyana Smith, Yumeng Wu, Jasmine Wheeler and Zachary Zelman.

"At Western Reserve Academy we take pride in the excellence of our academic curriculum. Student accomplishment is not only the result of hard work but also the result of intentional skill development and reinforcement," said Head of School Suzanne Buck.

"We are incredibly proud of the successes of our National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Scholars and look forward to celebrating all that they will achieve."

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the esteemed title of Merit Scholar® title.

"We are very proud of our students who have qualified as National Merit Semifinalists. It is noteworthy that being a boarding school, these students have to score significantly higher than the State of Ohio index to be recognized," said Associate Head of School Dr. Nicholas Kent. "In fact, we have 13 students who have met or exceeded the index other schools in the State were held to. We are proud of all of our students who are preparing to leave Western Reserve Academy to fulfill their mission of making their community and the world a better place."

Finalists will be notified in February and winners will be notified in the Spring.

Congratulations to our Pioneers!

National merit semifinalists are Seniors Yichen Wang, Elizabeth Wren, Sarah Latzke, Ellie Frato-Sweeney, and Raymond Barrett (pictured left to right).

National Merit Commended Scholars are seniors Ilyana Smith, Jad Darwiche, Blake Birch, Vijay Sastry, Zachary Zelman, Rowena Ge, Josphine Houska and Jasmine Wheeler (Not Pictured Kathryn Chen, Noah Luch and Yumeng Wu)