Eight WRA students selected as National Merit Finalists

Eight WRA students selected as National Merit Finalists

In September, we announced that eight WRA seniors qualified as The National Merit® Scholarship Program Semifinalists, standing out among more than 22,000 high school juniors. Of this elite group — which represents less than 1 percent of the nation's high school population — only 15,000 would proceed as finalists.

We are thrilled to announce that all eight seniors have been named finalists in the program. Congratulations to seniors Hyowon (Harrison) Ahn, Zachary Bloom, Noah Kontur, Jason Lin, Daniel Mylott, Nicholas Sabatino, Jaret Skonieczny and Alice Wu for this outstanding achievement.

"I am pleased to see our students nationally recognized for their talents," said Head of School Christopher D. Burner '80. "We are very proud of these exceptional students and the school's distinctive college preparatory curriculum. All eight students have been leaders in their own way, and we look forward to all that lies ahead of them."

The National Merit® Scholarship Program, an academic competition, recognizes student aptitude, ability and achievement. To qualify, students enter by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which screens approximately 1.6 million applicants each year. Students must also meet participation requirements.

This can only mean that all eight seniors have shown tremendous merit and achievement and worked rigorously for their exceptional academic standing, which earned them this honor and distinction.

"We are proud of these high-achieving students and delighted to see their hard work and exceptional abilities recognized through this celebrated program," said Director of College Counseling Gunnar W. Olson.

Of the 15,000 finalists, 7,500 will be selected to receive one of three types of Merit Scholarship® awards. The recipients will be notified via mail.

Powered by Finalsite